Assembly/AU/Recommendation (VI) RECOMMENDATION OF THE COMMITTEE ON THE CHAIRMANSHIP OF THE AFRICAN UNION As instructed by the Assembly of the African Union at its Sixth Ordinary Session in the Sudanese Capital, Khartoum, on 23 and 24 January 2006, the Committee of Seven chaired by Botswana and composed of the Gabon, Zimbabwe, Burkina Faso, Djibouti, Tanzania, Egypt, held its meetings and concluded the following: 1. That the Sudan shall assume Chairmanship of the African Union for the year 2007; 2. The rotation principle between regions shall be respected when electing the Chairman of the African Union; 3. The region of Central Africa shall present a candidate for the Chairman of the Union for year 2006; 4. A committee shall be established to examine the implementation of the rotation principle for the coming years in conformity with the relevant provisions of the Constitutive Act of the African Union; 5. A Declaration shall be issued by the Assembly Heads of State and Government to express appreciation and gratitude to the people and government of the Sudan for their commendable effort and to congratulate them on their election as chairman of the African Union for the year 2007. The meeting is submitting the above to the attention of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government for adoption. Khartoum, 24 January, 2006

Select target paragraph3